Description

After the start in Basel the way leads along the Rhine river turning north along the Wutach river. On a section of the "Vaude Trans Schwarzwald 2015" the border with Switzerland is crossed again for a few kilometers. From Tuttlingen to Aalen the route mostly follows the "Bike X-ing Schwäbische Alb" - one of the most scenic but challenging sections of the tour. It continues mountainous through Ellwangen, followed by a hiking trail very close to the European watershed near Rothenburg o.d.T. and over a ridge to Erlangen. From here we cross the Franconian Switzerland and the Fichtelgebirge to the tripoint Bavaria-Saxony-Czech Republic, the regulary start of the Grenzsteintrophy. The next 200 km will take over the crest of the Ore Mountains through Saxon Switzerland to the Oberlausitz. Here the border to the Czech Republic is crossed several times. In the last 600 km there are no more long slopes, but endless forests and sandy roads. The goal are the two lighthouses of Cape Arkona on the northern coast of the island of Ruegen.

Conditions

The route is intended for quick progress, there are only a few technical or pushing sections. A large part passes through forests on cycle tracks, forest roads or some single tracks. The highest peak is the Fichtelberg with 1,214 meters. In the North, several ferries are used. The operating times of the ferries are listed in the POIs. For the passenger ferry across the Peene there is a bypass at night time. The Wittow Ferry, 30 km from the finish, can not be bypassed. Please plan accordingly!

Data

The GPX-File with track and POIs will be sent to the participants one month before the start. The POIs mainly include shelters, camping and bivi sites, as well as some selected grocery stores and bike shops.

Profile

Profile

Die Strecke

Nach dem Start in Basel führt der Weg zunächst am Ufer des Rheins entlang und folgt dann ein kurzes Stück der Wutach. Auf einem Teilstück der "Vaude Trans-Schwarzwald 2015" wird erneut die Grenze zur Schweiz für ein paar Kilometer überquert. Von Tuttlingen bis Aalen folgt die Strecke größtenteils der "Bike X-ing Schwäbische Alb" - einer der schönsten aber auch anspruchsvollsten Abschnitte der Tour. Weiter geht es hügelig über Ellwangen, ein Stück entlang der Europäischen Wasserscheide an Rothenburg o.d.T. vorbei und über einen Bergrücken nach Erlangen. Dann geht es durch die Fränkische Schweiz und das Fichtelgebirge zum Dreiländereck Bayern-Sachsen-Tschechien, wo auch regelmäßig die Grenzsteintrophy startet. Die nächsten 200 km führen über den Kamm des Erzgebirges durch die Sächsische Schweiz in die Oberlausitz. Dabei wird mehrmals die Grenze nach Tschechien überquert. Auf den letzten 600 km gibt es keine langen Steigungen mehr, dafür aber endlose Wälder und Sandpisten. Das Ziel sind die Leuchttürme auf Kap Arkona an der nördlichen Küste der Insel Rügen.

Bedingungen

Die Strecke ist für schnelles Vorankommen konzipiert, es gibt nur wenige technische Abschnitte oder Schiebepassagen. Ein großer Teil führt durch Wald über Radwege, Forstwege und einige Trails. Die höchste Erhebung ist der Fichtelberg mit 1214 m. Im Norden werden mehrere Fähren genutzt. Die Betriebszeiten der Fähren sind in den POIs aufgeführt. Für die Personenfähre über die Peene gibt es eine Umfahrung in der Nachtzeit. Die Wittower Fähre, 30 km vor dem Ziel, kann nicht umfahren werden. Bitte entsprechend planen!

Daten

Das GPX-File mit Track und POIs wird einen Monat vor dem Start an die Teilnehmer versendet. Die POIs enthalten hauptsächlich Schutzhütten, Camping- und Biwakplätze, sowie einige ausgewählte Einkaufsmöglichkeiten.

Profil

Profil